I Graduated!…Now what?

Ahhh the infamous question of – so now what are you really going to do with your life? (As if college students don’t actually live at all).

From a very young age I have always found the phrases of getting to “the real world” repulsive. Why am I not in the real world now? Is what I’m doing not important enough? Also, why do you hate your “real world” job so much anyway – didn’t you pick it?

Seriously if we could all relax on those statements about life after college I think the world would be a better place. The people who say college is the best four years of your life (or sometimes high school) make me really sad. Really, really sad. What made you stop living? And why do you have to compromise with what you’re doing now just because you think you have some timeline to fill in? I obviously have a lot of questions.

Here’s the deal; sometimes people have crappy situations and they can’t help what they get themselves into after college. However, the way I see it is that the human being is a very capable mechanism. Yes, we get trapped in our own brains and think that there are no other options than a nine to five we hate. Yes, we can get stay in our comfort zones that bore us later on in life. And yes, that’s ok. BUT that’s not for me.

My plans are to make a difference (quite simply) and throughout my studies of rainforest deforestation, species loss, alternative forms of fuel, and so on I realized something – it may be less complex than the processes I’ve been looking at. I have always loved art and I have always enjoyed making it. From videos to photography and throwing clay on the wheel – I adore it all. So what you will see on here are more of my art based endeavors. If I move around the country like a banshee, well then you’re coming with me. I am undecided and ever changing – that’s ok with me.

Did I mention I was top 3% of my university? I’m sorry but I had to mention I’m a freaking brainiac and after all this higher education with four schools, four states, and all in four years – I DID IT.

Ok sorry I just had to take a moment…Now I’m blushing.

Your life, your journey.

CS

2 thoughts on “I Graduated!…Now what?

Leave a Reply

