Past Travels: Egypt at Night

DSC_0034_3

I was lucky enough to visit Egypt long ago and from the moment I left I was heartbroken. The culture, the sights, the obligatory monuments to visited, and the people I conversed with along the way were amazing. I realize that I was younger and a lot of the times was in unsafe areas or situations. However, I won’t lie when I say I made friends with a guard who carried around an AK47 on the bus when I traveled. A simple head nod and a smile and I knew everything was going to be fine. Whether that be naive or not that was my mindset many years ago.

One of the memories I constantly come back to is not seeing The Pyramids or The Sphinx, although they were wonderful and even more glorious than I expected, but I miss the night when we left port. I left the room, when down a hall, and found a spot to sit while I watched Egypt disappear into the night. The sounds of the mosques were echoing and it was perhaps one of the most peaceful moments of my life.

The lights were golden and the breeze was light. Even with all the chaos inside the city of Alexandria everything seemed so serene. I was sad to see this country off but hoped that someday I might see it again.

If not, I’m happy for the memories regardless.

CS

Leave a Reply

