Requiem for a Dream

As a partially new film studies student ( I keep adding to the list of minors, concentrations, etc. ) I am constantly being reminded of how many of the classics and “cult followings” I have yet to see. In less than a year now I finally got to Footloose, FlashDance, Top Gun, The Royal Tenebaums (a new favorite) and Pulp Fiction. What’s wrong with me you ask? Why have I lived over 20 years and not seen these?? Frankly…I have no idea.

I will not bore you with all the details of each viewing but last night was particularly interesting. I’m in an evaluating contemporary film course and we have showings from time to time as a class and engage/write notes together. If you have seen Requiem you know that this time was a little difficult. I found myself angry and the plot hitting a little too close to home this time. The edits were very powerful and the connection that the audience and characters was visibly evident. Many were crying and some even left. What was interesting to me was the connection of the characters in the movie and how even though things got extremely vulgar and intense I was kind of lost in it all. Well done to the producers/directors/entire staff, really.

Unfortunately, I think that if you are under 18 this isn’t a film you should see. In these kinds of cases I think you can learn a lot from films like this but many audience members are not prepared for that kind of exposure. So in sum, if you are reading this post and have seen it please feel free to join in the conversation. If you have not, scroll along and maybe go check out Fall Out Boy’s new single and dance around in your room without worry.

Hope everyone is having a fantastic week!

CS

Leave a Reply

